IIA Certifications and Qualifications

Drive Your Career Forward with the IIA Global Certifications and Qualifications

Earning a professional internal audit credential is a critical step to being distinguished from your peers and will:

  • Sharpen skills and proficiencies.

  • Enhance credibility and respect.

  • Increase advancement and earning potential.

  • Demonstrate understanding and commitment.

Wherever your journey takes you, there’s an IIA credential that moves you faster through your internal audit career roadmap.


Certified Internal Auditor (CIA)

As the only globally recognized certification for internal auditors, becoming a Certified Internal Auditor® (CIA®) proves skill, value, and understanding of the International Standards for the Professional Practice of Internal Auditing and how to apply them.


Certification in Risk Management Assurance (CRMA)

The Certification in Risk Management Assurance® (CRMA®) focuses on the key elements to unlocking internal audit’s full potential, and validates one’s ability to provide advice and assurance on risk management to audit committees and executive management.

141059 CERT-QIAL Badge-4c.jpg

​Qualification in Internal Audit Leadership (QIAL)

Demonstrate your organizational, ethical, and internal audit leadership skills by obtaining the Qualification in Internal Audit Leadership® (QIAL®), the premier designation for internal audit executives.

How to register

Step 1: Apply

  • Create a profile in The IIA’s Certification Candidate Management System (CCMS) or access an existing profile. CCMS is a user-friendly system to help you apply for, register, and maintain your certification and related information, while keeping you connected to and informed about The IIA’s certification programs.

  • Upload required documents for program approval (education, government-issued photo ID) directly within the CCMS.

  • Obtain character reference(s) electronically via the CCMS.

  • You will not be able to register for the exam until your documents and application are approved.

Step 2: Test

  • Access your profile in CCMS.

  • Click “Manage Program.”

  • Register for the exam or exam part.

  • Schedule your exam.

Step 3: Become Certified

  • Complete your experience verification.

  • Receive your certification.

  • Access your certificate via the CCMS. A printed copy may be obtained with a fee.

How to prepare

Les étudiants adultes

CIA Study Group

Continuing Professional Education (CPE)

CIA Study Group

CPE is mandatory for holders of IIA Certification and is critical to your professional development and to keep your knowledge up to date.

CPE hours are to be reported on an annual basis via CCMS.

Check our Professional Development page to see how you can earn CPEs.